News and Announcements

Please email statsinimaging@gmail.com to submit a news item.


  • Dr. Syed Ejaz Ahmed will present at the February SI Virtual Working Group

    Dr. Syed Ejaz Ahmed (Brock University) will present at the February SI Virtual Working Group Meetings (2023-2024) on Wednesday, February 28 at 2:00pm EST (1:00pm CST/12:00pm MST/11:00am PST). Zoo... Read more

  • Congratulations to the Winners of Student Paper Competition for JSM 2024

    Congratulations to the winners of the 2024 Statistics in Imaging Section Student Paper Competition. Out of the 29 submissions received, the award committee has selected a First Place Award and four... Read more

  • Call for student paper competition for SMI 2024

    The 2024 Statistical Methods in Imaging (SMI) conference will be held on May 29-31, 2024, at the JW Marriott Indianapolis in Indianapolis, IN. The conference will be fully in-person. SMI is the ann... Read more

  • Call for tutorials and invited sessions for SMI 2024

    The 2024 Statistical Methods in Imaging (SMI) conference will be held on May 29-31, 2024, at the JW Marriott Indianapolis in Indianapolis, IN. The conference will be fully in-person. SMI is the ann... Read more

  • Call for applications to the Early Career Biostatistics Program for collaborating on mental health and aging

    The Advanced Research Institute (ARI) in Mental Health and Aging is a research education program for early career faculty that focuses on this problem. A component of ARI, the Mentored Biostatisti... Read more

  • Dr. Yaotian Wang will present at the November SI Virtual Working Group

    Dr. Yaotian Wang (Emory University) will present at the November SI Virtual Working Group Meetings (2023-2024) on Tuesday, November 28 at 2:00pm EST (1:00pm CST/12:00pm MST/11:00am PST). Zoom Lin... Read more

  • Dr. Suprateek Kundu will present at the October SI Virtual Working Group

    Dr. Suprateek Kundu (MD Anderson Cancer Center) will present at the October SI Virtual Working Group Meetings (2023-2024) on Tuesday, October 24 at 1:30pm EST (12:30pm CST/11:30am MST/10:30am PST)... Read more

  • Survey for Future SI Virtual Working Group Meeting

    Julia Fisher developed a short survey to gauge interest in potential future activities at the Virtual Working Group. This survey will help organizers ensure that the Virtual Working Group is meeti... Read more

  • Call for student paper competition on imaging data analysis for JSM 2024

    The Statistics in Imaging Section of the ASA cordially invites submissions for a student paper competition for research on statistical methods, theory, or software development for the analysis of ... Read more

  • Statistics in Imaging Section Business Meeting at JSM 2023

    The Business Meeting of the ASA Section on Statistics in Imaging took place during JSM 2023 (8/8/2023 at the Delta Hotel by Marriott Toronto). During the meeting, reports on SI section’s major even... Read more

  • Announcement of the Hosts for SMI 2024 and SMI 2025 Conferences

    We are delighted to share that we have received several excellent proposals in response to the section’s call for organizing future SMI conferences. We are ecstatic to announce the selected hosts f... Read more

  • Dr. Andrew Chen will present at the August SI Virtual Working Group

    Dr. Andrew Chen (Medical University of South Carolina) will present at the August SI Virtual Working Group Meetings (2023-2024) on Thursday, August 17 at 3:00pm EST (2pm CST/1pm MST/12pm PST). Zo... Read more

  • The SI Virtual Working Group is looking for an August speaker

    The SI Virtual Working Group is looking for an August speaker. The talk can be a length of the speaker’s choosing (anywhere from 20 to 50 minutes) and feature finished work or work in progress. It... Read more

  • 2023 SI Section Election Results

    Michele Guindani from University of California Los Angeles is Chair-Elect 2024. Dehan Kong from University of Toronto is Program Chair-Elect 2024. Yize Zhao from Yale University is elected as Coun... Read more

  • 2023 Statistics in Imaging Section Business Meeting at JSM Toronto

    The Business Meeting of the ASA Section on Statistics in Imaging that will take place at JSM in Toronto between 4:30-6:30 PM on 8/8/2023 in SOCO Ballroom A of Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto.



  • Special Issue: Data Science in the Brain Sciences

    A new non-profit open-access journal called Imaging Neuroscience is launched. The editors of the new journal are previously editors of NeuroImage. The journal website is https://imaging-neuroscien... Read more

  • Neuroimaging Statistics Workshop in the 2023 OHBM conference

    The Neuroimaging Statistics Workshop organized by Thomas Nichols and Jean-Baptiste Poline takes place at the Montreal Neurological Institute on July 27th, 2023. The schedule and full program is av... Read more

  • Call for proposals for 2024 Statistical Methods in Imaging (SMI) conference

    The ASA Statistics in Imaging Section is soliciting proposals for organizing the 2024 SMI conference. The SMI conference is the flagship conference of ASA Statistics in Imaging Section. The confere... Read more

  • SMI 2023: Student Paper Competition Results

    We are pleased to announce the winners of SMI 2023 Student Paper Competition! Theory and Methods track: Winner Jialu Ran, Emory University, Runner-up Zhiling Gu, Iowa State University. Case Studies... Read more

  • A new journal Imaging Neuroscience is Launched

    A new non-profit open-access journal called Imaging Neuroscience is launched. The editors of the new journal are previously editors of NeuroImage. The journal website is https://imaging-neuroscien... Read more

  • 23rd Meeting of New Researchers in Statistics and Probability

    The 23rd Meeting of New Researchers in Statistics and Probability will take place from August 2 to 5, 2023, at the University of Toronto. It is co-sponsored by the Institute of Mathematical Statist... Read more

  • SI Virtual Working Group April Meeting

    The April meeting of the Statistics in Imaging Virtual Working Group will be on Monday 4/24 at 12pm Eastern Time. We will have the opportunity to hear from Dr. Simon Vandekar.



  • 2023 Statistical Methods in Imaging (SMI) conference

    We are excited that the 2023 Statistical Methods in Imaging (SMI) conference will be held in-person on May 22-24 at University of Minnesota. We’d like to thank Division of Biostatistics and School... Read more

  • New edition of DSPA textbook published by Springer

    Please read more in Ivo’s post on LinkedIn